Long Winter Short Film Festival

More Info

Bloom Art Scholarships

Joe Boyce -2010 Milton Bloom recipient with his parents and Arlene Bloom

Joe Boyce -2010 Milton Bloom recipient with his parents and Arlene Bloom

-2017 Bloom Scholarship-
Marblehead Festival of Arts offers 
scholarship for student in Grades 7 through 11.
  • About the Bloom Scholarship 

Each year since 2008, the Marblehead Festival of Arts has offered the $500 Milton Bloom Student Art Scholarship to a deserving student in grades 7 through 11.  It is sponsored by the Bloom family, in memory of Milton Bloom, a lifelong supporter of the arts. This award is intended to provide financial assistance to the winning student to help pay tuition for a program in the arts, including fine arts, crafts, performing arts and creative writing.  

2017 Milton Bloom Scholarships may be utilized for programs in the arts scheduled between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018.  The application deadline: April 14, 2017.   Click here for printable Application

  • Eligibility

Students in grades 7 through 11 who reside in or attend school in Marblehead are eligible to apply for this scholarship. Selection shall be based on artistic talent, accomplishments and motivation. Applicants should have a demonstrated passion for art, have at least two years of experience excelling in their chosen areas and seek to expand their artistic horizons.  Students are encouraged to apply each year he or she is eligible.

  • Further Information and Forms

Information about the Milton Bloom Student Art Scholarship program is available on the Festival website, www.MarbleheadFestival.org, where application forms may be downloaded. Applications are also available at these schools: Marblehead High School, Marblehead Veterans Middle School, Marblehead Community Charter Public School, Tower School and Cohen Hillel Academy. For questions about the scholarship and application form, please contact artscholarship@MarbleheadFestival.org.

Click here for Bloom Scholarship Application

The Bloom Scholarship Award Committee co-chairs are Jan and Ron Lamkin along with committee members Herb Goldberg, Mike Evers, Steve Lickwar and Anthony Silva. The 2016 winner of the scholarship was Andrew Schrader, who was an 8th grade student at the Marblehead Veteran’s Middle School.